Page Divider

Leicester Contest Champions 2014

Leicester TrophyThe band ended the contesting calendar year on a high by winning the LBBA Leicester Contest for the second time in three years. On a day of high-quality banding the band delivered a fine performance that adjudicator Stan Lippeatt said was “a clear winner”.

This year the band chose to play Philip Sparke’s Kaleidoscope.  The piece, a set of five variations on the Brugg Song represented a challenge for the band as this piece has been previously used as a set work in the second section. The composer’s notes state – “Each variation is based on tiny extracts of the theme, the whole piece therefore resembling the effect of a kaleidoscope, which juxtaposes small fragments of colour in a constantly changing pattern.”

Following a short rehearsal at nearby Shepshed High School, the band arrived at Garendon High School in Loughborough in a confident mood. The competition this year was fiercer than ever, with winners of the Yorkshire Area Dinnington Colliery and winners of the Midland Area Rushden Town both in attendance. The band then delivered a performance full of style and character and the delight was clear to see when the results were announced.

The whole band performed magnificently once again and special mentions go to Manuel Vicente and Dan Burrows both taking part in their first ever contest, hopefully with many more to come!

The band now look forward to the busy Christmas period where they will be performing in a number of concerts, as well as playing carols to raise money for the band. So take a look at the band diary and come along and support us! Finally keep an eye out for our new CD “Torkard” in the coming weeks!

Full Results

1. Hucknall & Linby M.C Brass (Paul Whyley) – 185
2. Dinnington Colliery (Jonathan Beatty) – 184
3. Rushden Town (Adele Hudson) – 183
4. Hemel Hempstead (Philip Fisher) – 182
5. Cleobury Mortimer Concert Brass (Saphran Ali) – 181
6. KingswayPrinters Cleethorpes (Steven Askew) – 180
7. University of Warwick (Alex Parker) – 179
8. Oxford Cherwell Brass (Terry Brotherhood) – 178
9. Melton (Graham Sutton) – 177
10=. Rolls Royce (Derby) (Graham Cardwell) – 176
10=. Newhall (Kevin Holdgate) – 176

Page Divder